top of page


Kaylee is a designer at the Miller Hull Partnership. She graduated from NewSchool of Architecture and Design in 2020 with a Bachelor of Architecture and a double minor in Construction Management and Healthy Urbanism. As an undergraduate, Kaylee served as Student Council President from 2017 to 2019 and as NewSchool's AIAS chapter Vice-President from 2018 to 2019. During her vice-presidency, the AIAS chapter was awarded the Chapter Honor Award. Along with serving as President of the NewSchool Foundation, Kaylee is a director for the Committee of One Hundred (C100).

Board Member Since 2018


Vice President

Dame is an Honorable Service US Navy veteran and Construction Manager with a Bachelor of Science in Construction Management, 2019 NSAD Alumni. She is presently serving those who serve as a WSP Consultant in Federal Programs. As the managing partner on a tri-venture AE, Dame is the Assistant Deputy Project Manager for the Shipyard Infrastructure Optimization Program (SIOP)’s Multi Mission Dry Dock (M2D2, presently Dry Dock 3) at Puget Sound Naval Shipyard in Bremerton, Washington.


Dame is also actively engaged with the local community in San Diego. She was awarded Mentor of the Year in 2021 and continues to serve as a Team Leader and Mentor with ACE Mentoring San Diego. Through hers and peers’ networks, she organizes construction site visits, firm / office visits, college tours, presentations, and workshops in addition to bi-weekly mentoring of scholars at e3 Civic High School.


As a Haitian immigrant, Dame strongly advocates for equity, diversity, and inclusion in every circle; she brings DEI to the forefront and plans innovative initiatives with her peers and charges on through execution.

Board Member Since 2022



Steve is a third-generation residential builder and real estate developer specializing in sustainable urban infill townhouses. He is a licensed contractor and real estate broker. In addition to his work with the Foundation Steve is active in the North Park Community Association and San Diego Green Building Council.

Board Member Since 2012



Lucy is Librarian of the Richard Welsh Library at the NewSchool of Architecture and Design. Originally from London, England, Lucy moved to San Diego in February of 2011. In addition to serving as Secretary and Vice President she is on the Scholarship Committee. She also volunteers with the San Diego Architectural Foundation and the Friends of San Diego Architecture and is Past-President of the Association of Architecture School Librarians. 

Board Member Since 2013

Past-President and Trustee

Stephen is President of the San Diego Housing Federation. He graduated form NewSchool of Architecture and Design in 2005, and has a 20-year history working in community and economic development in the Mid-City region of San Diego. Stephen served as Executive Director of the El Cajon Boulevard Business Improvement District, where he was responsible for implementing an economic development strategy for an aging commercial district. He later served as an advisor to then-San Diego City Council member Toni Atkins on issues related to redevelopment, infrastructure financing, small business support, and the City’s General Plan (the “City of Villages”.) Since then he has served as volunteer board member and President of the City Heights Community Development Corporation, a non-profit organization dedicated to providing affordable housing, employment opportunities, and quality neighborhoods in the community of City Heights. Stephen was President of the NewSchool Foundation Board from 2011 to 2017.

Board Member Since 2009


Director and Lecture Committee Chair

Mike's career exemplifies the essence of planning. His vision and ability has inspired students, colleagues, community leaders and activists, resulting in an enhanced and invigorated quality of life in San Diego, nationally and internationally. He is a professor of architecture and urban design at NewSchool and a principal in Stepner Design Group. He is a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, a Fellow of the Institute of Urban Design, and a Fellow of the American Institute of Certified Planners. Mike also served as San Diego City Architect from 1988 to 1992 and later for the San Diego Economic Development Corporation as director of planning and housing.

Board Member Since 1999




Board Member Since 2023



Kevin, as principal of Kevin deFreitas Architects, has had the good fortune of many exceptional collaborations resulting in a diverse portfolio of recognized projects, a public restroom on the sand in Ocean Beach for the City, a rammed earth chapel on the Rincon Indian Reservation, custom residences, urban infill rowhomes, and several commissions on the UCSD campus including Galbraith Hall, Warren College bridges, and Computer Science + Engineering renovations.


Kevin is also an active board member of the San Diego Architectural Foundation and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. He greatly enjoys live music, sharing a meal with just about anybody, laughing out loud, and coaching a variety of youth sports that one of his four children happen to be playing.

Board Member Since 2017
David White


Bio coming soon.

Board Member Since 2023


Student Ex-Officio

Mike is a student in the Bachelor of Architecture program pursuing a double minor in Healthy Urbanism and Graphic Design. Along with being a board member for the NewSchool Foundation, he has served on the AIAS-NewSchool board for the past two years and is part of the NewSchool Lecture Committee. Mike is an active member of AIA San Diego’s Urban Design Committee and enjoys volunteering with local architecture organizations. Before coming to San Diego, Mike worked with an architecture firm in Richmond, Virginia and his design work has been recognized and awarded at the 2017 Virginia Governor’s Housing Conference.

Board Member Since 2021


Student Ex-Officio

Nick is a 4th Year Undergraduate in the Architecture Program. He is pursuing a Minor in Construction Management while serving as AIAS NewSchool Chapter President 2019-2020 and as a Student Council Member. Nick is a firm believer that taking an active role in one’s own education by staying engaged with personal work, professors, student organizations, and or the local professional community is a vital element of success.  

Board Member Since 2021

Past Board Members
bottom of page